10 Horror Films That Could Benefit from a Reboot (Part 1)

Evil-Dead-Crossover

Last Year’s Evil Dead single handedly restored my faith in “Reboots”.  At first, I couldn’t believe they were even attempting to remake ED, got pissed when I heard there would be no Ash character, and groaned at the Diablo Cody connection.  After experiencing the hideous results of the Fright Night and The Thing reboots (among others), I was almost CERTAIN ED would be loathsome.

But I fucking loved it.

It got me thinking: With the right material in the right hands, a reboot might actually be a good thing.   After the jump, check out Part 1 of my list: 10 Horror Films That Could Benefit from a Reboot.

nightmareelmstreet1984-longarms

 A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984):  You’re like, “Um, Josh, they already rebooted Nightmare in 2010,” but I hated Wesley Strick’s script, Samuel Bayer’s direction, and Jackie Earle Haley’s distorted portrayal of Freddy Krueger.  Everything about 2010’s effort stinks to high heaven and I’d like to pretend that film never existed.  It’s a shame because in the right hands, the Nightmare franchise is a goldmine for reinvention.  They should follow the example of the Friday the 13th reboot and combine the first 3 films into one epic experience.

Poltergeist

Poltergeist (1982):  Poltergeist is one of the first films that really blew my mind.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t hold up that well over time.  Sure, there are a few good scenes (face removal anyone?), but compared to the terrors of our modern world, Poltergeist is almost family-friendly.  Looks like I’m getting my wish in this case.  MGM is releasing a Poltergeist reboot/sequel Valentine’s Day weekend 2015.  Official Synopsis:  In a revisionist take on the classic horror film, a family struggling to make ends meet relocates to an outdated suburban home and is confronted by an angry spirit who kidnaps their youngest daughter and challenges them to band together to rescue her from the clutches of evil.

MSDPHAN EC029

Phantasm (1979):  Bring back The Tall ManPhantasm warped my mind as a youth and left a lasting impression: The flying silver spheres, the dwarf-slaves, the inter-dimensional travel, and especially Angus Scimm’s legendary portrayal of the ominous undertaker.  And the story is still solid if you ask me.  While there appear to be some in Hollywood hip to the potential of a Phantasm Reboot, writer/director Don Coscarelli was quoted in The LA Times saying: I get a phone call every week, it seems, from somebody who wants to [reboot/remake] it. It’s something I’ve been resisting for a while. I do think that, given the proper context, it would really be exciting to see what a younger filmmaker could bring to that story. It’s something I’m open to but I guess I’m seeking the right circumstances. Takashi Miike doing Phantasm, how would that be? Anything that would ever be done would have to be done with sensitivity to the appreciation that the fans have for it. They just worship Angus as the Tall Man and Reggie as the loyal trusted friend.”   I say “Lighten up Don!  Give the new blood a crack at it!”

people-under-the-stairs-1-e1286465141411

The People Under the Stairs (1991): With all due respect, this Wes Craven gem still holds a special place in this blogger’s black heart.  There are so many great elements to TPUTS, I believe it could have been a classic.  The “Mommy” and “Daddy” characters were amazing then and could be again.  My main problem with the original has always been the stereotypical portrayal of poor African Americans and the fact that the protagonist is a 12-year-old kid.  I mean, come on!  How crazy is a film starring a 12-year-old really gunna get?  A reboot starring young adults with a reimagined basement full of mute “children” would kick ass in my opinion.

Gremlinsfeat (1)

Gremlins (1984):  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not thinking a complete departure from the original.  I like the humor and accessibility of Gremlins.  And I’m not suggesting a reboot stuffed full of CGI Mogwai either—keep those effects practical.  But let’s up the intensity a few notches!  I’d like to see Gremlins bowling with severed heads and/or decorating Christmas trees with human guts!  I’m talking some jet-black comedy.  And once again, I may just be in luck.  Last May, Bloody Disgusting  announced Dark Shadow scribe Seth Grahame-Smith has been tapped alongside David Katzenberg to pen a Gremlins remake.  No solid details yet, so this may turn out to be a pipe dream.

Check back soon for Part 2 of this list where I will name the Number 1 franchise that I believe could benefit from a reboot (any guesses?).  I should have it up sometime tomorrow (or Friday… Saturday if I get really lazy).

About Saucy Josh

I write a blog for intelligent Horror movie aficionados called Blood and Guts for Grown Ups: https://bloodandgutsforgrownups.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Saucy Josh

Leave a Reply

