The 10 Best Horror Films of 2011

Well, 2011 was a crappy year for Horror films (Check out my 10 worst horror films of 2011).  I hate to say this, but I was actually hard pressed to think of 10 titles for this list.  A couple of these films (I won’t say which) might not have made the cut during a better year (or even an average year).  Still, I’m thankful that 2011 wasn’t a complete wash.

The following films are the year’s 10 best Horror offerings (in this humble critic’s opinion).  Enjoy!

See the list after the jump and read my full analysis over at FilmSponge.com!

Black Death 

Paranormal Activity 3 

Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark 

Wake Wood

Insidious

Final Destination 5

[REC]2

The Reef

Quarantine 2: Terminal

Undocumented 

About Saucy Josh

I write a blog for intelligent Horror movie aficionados called Blood and Guts for Grown Ups: https://bloodandgutsforgrownups.wordpress.com/ View all posts by Saucy Josh

5 responses to “The 10 Best Horror Films of 2011

  • Franz Patrick

    Some of these titles I’ve never even heard of. For example, “Undocumented” and “The Reef.”

    I did manage to watch “Wake Wood” last week. It had a very interesting premise but I found the whole work was weak. It felt like the whole thing was a set-up for that kind of brilliant ending rather than a natural flow of occurrences. Maybe it could have worked better as a short film?

    • Saucy Josh

      Thanks for reading Franz. Part of why I think I enjoyed Wakewood so much is because I have an affinity for Hammer Films and I was excited about their rebirth. Still, I really like the ressurection ritual (which to me, in the lynch-pin of the film), especially the way a corps becomes a kind of cocoon for the reincarnated.

      The Reef is great. Its one of those films that you can’t stop thinking about for days after you watch it.

      Keep reading!

      Saucy Josh

  • johnathanphillips

    What do you think is the best horror film of 2012 so far?

    • Saucy Josh

      Cabin in the Woods, without a doubt. Prometheus was a huge disappointment.

      • johnathanphillips

        I love Cabin in the Woods. Me and my friends went to the theater to see it and cut it down but we couldn’t because it turned out to be a really fun movie. Haven’t seen Prometheus but most people are saying what you said about it.

Leave a Reply

